Skip to content

Refreshing Bean & Grain Salad

March 12, 2012

Hello! How have you been? I have been extremely busy with school, work, life and cooking, but everything is all good. I know last time I promised that my next post would be about butter, but I got sidetracked by this simple, delicious recipe. Don’t worry, I still love butter and I intend to tell you all about it soon, OK?

This recipe came about because I had a bunch of black-eyed peas and basmati rice leftover from practicing for my cook tech test. The tasks on the test were to make fluffy brown rice, firm black-eyed peas and blanched broccoli. I practiced the day before the test and I passed with a 93 so I know I’m doing something right! The day after, I made black-eyed pea and brown rice patties with avocado sauce & roasted cabbage (recipe from my friend Nancy Sobel-Butcher at Test Kitchenette) but I still had a lot of beans & grains leftover. Since I hate to waste food, I came up with this salad.

It is very refreshing and although normally I wouldn’t be eating something like this in wintry March, our weather has been incredibly mild this season and I felt the need for something light in my belly.  If you’re lazy, you can skip blanching the veggies and just throw them in raw, but that would most definitely make this a cooling summer salad. For a refresher on how to blanch vegetables, click here. Feel free to use other combinations of grains & beans that you may have on hand and if the thought of julienning the vegetables gives you heart palpitations, just cut them into a small uniform shape.

Refreshing Bean & Grain Salad

Ingredients:

1 3/4 Cup cooked black eyed peas
1 1/2 Cup cooked long grain brown rice
8 Small, fat carrots cut into julienne strips
1 Cup green beans, trimmed and halved
2 Broccoli stalks, peeled and julienned
1 Cup small broccoli florets
1/4 Cup radish cut into thin strips

Dressing (Source here)

2 Tbsp dijon mustard
2 Tbsp red wine vinegar
1/2 Cup olive oil
4 Tbsp finely chopped onion (I used red onion)
1 Garlic clove, minced
Sea salt & ground pepper to taste

Directions:

  1. In a large bowl, mix the beans & rice together. Set aside.
  2. Blanch & shock the carrots first, then green beans then broccoli. You want them to still be crunchy, but not raw. Should only take a minute or two. Make sure to drain them properly and set aside in a colander.
  3. In a small bowl, combine mustard & vinegar.
  4. Whisk the mixture while slowly drizzling the olive oil into it until fully emulsified.
  5. (Optional) In a small pan, gently “sweat” the onions in a tiny bit of salt & oil until the raw taste has been cooked out. Add garlic for the last minute or two, being careful not to impart any color onto them.
  6. Add onion & garlic to the dressing and stir well.
  7. (Optional) For a smooth dressing, blend with an immersion blender. Otherwise, use as is.
  8. Add vegetables to bean & grain mixture and mix well.
  9. Add the dressing and mix well.
One Comment leave one →
  1. Nancy Sobel permalink
    March 12, 2012 4:01 pm

    Nicely done, love that you use the broccoli stalks!

Leave a Reply

